Some Daily Grace

Laura Smith Writer


“Wordle” Poem Challenge (Spoiler alert)

I had a better name for this challenge, but I thought it up while driving to the post office and it has since vacated the confines of my menopausal mind. So here goes: The challenge, if you choose to accept it is to create a poem utilizing one Wordle word you guessed per line. If it takes six tries, your poem will be six lines. Two tries, two lines. Post yours in the comments if you choose! Today it took me all six tries, but yesterday just two. I do use the same opening word each day so all of my poems will begin with the word “stare.” Make sense? Here are my first two entries. Yes, I know I used the word “cheep” incorrectly, but this is poetry!

June 6 "Ether"
I stare into my beloved's eyes
love carried by the luminiferous ether.

June 7 "Melon"
He should stare at the stone
more closely. Cheep metal encasing
bendy vines that gather
as ancient stone is level with human eyes.
The felon flicks his find
to the floor, melon juice is more magical.

What do you have for today?


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started